Setting the New Standard in Electronics Design.

Efficiency. Collaboration. Accuracy.

Working with Altium 365 / How to Control Access and Share Your Projects Completed Sign In To Save Your Progress
Click if you find this content useful

Working with Altium 365

How to Control Access and Share Your Projects

Altium 365 allows granular control over who can access your projects and what actions they can perform in them. Here, we will show you how to manage these granular sharing options:

  1. Different ways to share your project
  2. How to check and control who has access to your project
  3. Advanced sharing settings

Altium 365 supports three primary methods of giving other users access to a PCB project:

  1. Add users to your Altium 365 workspace - This is the best option for sharing projects with your team members and others you regularly collaborate with.
  2. Share an individual project with someone outside the workspace - This method works well for one-off cases when you need to collaborate on a limited number of projects.
  3. Share a static snapshot of the project - This option works well when you need to provide view-only access or create a public link to share with someone without an Altium account.

1. Add users to your Altium 365 Workspace

An Altium 365 Workspace is a secure cloud environment where you and your team can store your design projects.

Important! When you invite someone to your workspace, you give them access to your current and future projects. These default settings can be adjusted.

The Standard subscription plan allows you to control access to each project or item level. For more details on item- vs. folder-level sharing, check out this article on sharing folders and items.

The Pro and Enterprise subscription plans allow control at the folder level and by user role. Read about managing membership of your Altium 365 Workspace for more details.

Administrators always have access to everything in the workspace.

Fig. 1 - Altium 365 Workspace administrator and members
Fig. 1 - Altium 365 Workspace administrator and members

Tip: If you need help determining your organization's subscription plan, log in to your workspace via web browser and look at the workspace name in the menu on the right. If you have the Pro subscription plan, you will see the PRO label. If you have the Enterprise subscription plan, you will see the ent label. If you have the Standard subscription plan, no label is displayed.

Fig. 2 - Altium 365 Subscriptions plan
Fig. 2 - Altium 365 subscription plans

2. Share an individual project with someone outside of the workspace

You can share a project with someone without adding them to your workspace. Be aware that they will have access to the following:

  • Project source documents and comments
  • Release packages
Fig. 3 - User outside Altium 365 Workspace
Fig. 3 - Dialog box for sharing outside Altium 365 Workspace

You can share a project with a user from your company or even someone outside your organization. If they don't have an Altium Live account, they will be prompted to sign up for one to access the project you shared.

To share outside of your workspace:

Open the project either in Altium Designer or your web browser.

Click the Share button.

Fig. 4 - Share button in Altium Designer
Fig. 4 - Share button in Altium Designer
Fig. 5 - Share button in the web browser
Fig. 5 - Share button in the web browser

In the Share dialog, type the email address of the person with whom you are sharing the project.

Fig. 6 – "Share Project With" dialog
Fig. 6 – "Share Project With" dialog

You will see a warning that you are sharing outside of your workspace. Click Ok.

Fig. 7 – "Share outside the workspace"
Fig. 7 – "Share outside the workspace"

3. Share a static snapshot of the project

You can also share a snapshot of a project on the web. A design snapshot shared this way is a read-only, static copy of the project. Updates to the project will not be reflected in the snapshot.

Fig. 13 - Public URL of the snapshot
Fig. 8 - Snapshot of the project

There are two ways to share a snapshot:

3.1. Generate a temporary link that will allow anyone with the link access to the snapshot for 48 hours.

Important! Once you share the snapshot, you cannot revoke access to it. Even if you delete the project from your workspace, the 48-hour link will work until its expiration time, and the users you shared the snapshot with will have access to the static copy.

Click Snapshot on the Web in the Share dialog box.

Fig. 14 - Sharing the snapshot
Fig. 9 - Sharing the snapshot

Click the Generate Link button.

Fig. 14 - Sharing the snapshot
Fig. 10 - Snapshot link is generated

3.2. Share with specific people

To give permanent access to a snapshot and provide the ability to comment on the specific project, toggle "Share with specific people."

Fig. 16 - “Share with specific people”
Fig. 11 - “Share with specific people”

Enter the email addresses of the users you want to invite. You can also add a note to all invited users' invitations.

Click Advanced Settings to choose whether to allow collaborators to reshare or download the project:

Fig. 17 - Advanced settings
Fig. 12 - Advanced settings

After entering all data, click Send to send the invitation.

Fig. 18 - Message successfully sent
Fig. 13 - Message successfully sent

The recipient will receive an e-mail containing a link to the snapshot of the design.

Fig. 14 - Invitation received by the user
Fig. 14 - Invitation received by the user

How to check and adjust who has access to your project

While there are several methods of sharing a project, whichever one you use, you can always check who a project has been shared with. To check and adjust who has access to a specific project, follow these steps:

Select a project and click ... on the project thumbnail or click Share in the upper-right corner.
Fig. 15 - Share command in the menu and Share button in the upper-right corner of the Altium 365 window
Fig. 15 - The Share command in the menu and the Share button in the upper-right corner of the Altium 365 window
Click Shared With in the Share dialog to see who has access. Here, you can also type the email address or role of the user you would like to share a project with in the “Share Project With” field.
Fig. 16 – Share With in the Share dialog
Fig. 16 ​​​​​​– Share With in the Share dialog

Advanced sharing settings

In addition to controlling who can view and edit a project, it is important to check who can re-share it with others and download source files. To do so, click Advanced Settings in the Share dialog.
Fig. 22 - Advanced sharing settings
Fig. 17 - Advanced sharing settings
In the Advanced Settings dialog, make the corresponding changes. Only those shared users with Edit permissions can re-share a project with others.
  • Editors in the Workspace – Allows Workspace team members that have Edit rights for the shared design to re-share it with others.
  • Editors outside the Workspace – Allows non-Workspace team members that have Edit rights for the shared design to re-share it with others.
  • Viewers in the Workspace – Allows Workspace team members with View rights for the shared design to download design files.
  • Viewers outside the Workspace – Allows non-Workspace team members with View rights for the shared project to download design files.
Fig. 23 - Permission levels
Fig. 18 - Permission levels

Shared with Me

On the left-hand side of the screen, you will see "Shared with me." Those are all the projects others have shared with you. You can open them in Altium 365; if you have the right permissions, you can also download and re-share them.
Fig. 19 – "Shared with Me" Page
Fig. 19 – "Shared with Me" Page
Good job! Article is now completed!
Sign In To Save Your Progress

Read Again

CAPTCHA
Was this article useful?
Yes No
Thank you Glad to hear it